My letter to Senator Kennedy

8 02 2008

The Clinton camp is trying to spin CLinton’s win in Massachusetts as an anti-Kennedy rebuke for endorsing Obama. But what I find is this is irrelevant. The actual endorsement from Ted Kennedy prove to remove the stigma of Obama being the “Black Candidate” and has proven to help him across the entire nation. I respect the Kennedys and their legacy and I am proud of them for standing with a candidate they feel can bring change to this country.

With this in mind, I wrote a letter to Senator Kennedy, showing my gratitude for his stance. Here is a copy of that letter. Please do the same and show appreciation for the Lion who protected the lamb and it seems brought life back to his legacy as well as to himself.

Please do the same here if you support Obama.

THE LETTER

“Dear Senator Kennedy,

I am an avid supporter of Barack Obama here in Houston, TX. I am also a graduate student in communications. I wanted to write you and tell you that I am very proud and thankful that you took a stand with your family to support Senator Obama in this presidential election. Your vote of confidence prove that our country is moving forward from its division and Obama supporters appreciate it.

I actually cried when I saw you stand at the podium to announce your endorsement. I will never forget your legacy or that of your brothers. My mom was a child when your brothers were assassinated and I remember as a child her recounting the story of the day the world stood still and mourned the death of two great leaders. I believe that by standing with Obama that you sealed your legacy.

Despite the fact that he did not win Massachusetts I believe that your endorsement proved relevant to the rest of the nation.

Thank you again for your support and standing for change, you will never be forgotten and I will one day tell my children about what you did this year. It took gumption.

Sincerely,

T.E.

Actions

Information

3 responses

8 02 2008
cozumelkid

I am over 60 years old now, but, a long, long, time ago, when I was a kid, I watched a movie about John F. Kennedy and how he was stranded on an island in World War II. The next day I wrote a letter to him and asked if he still had the coconut that he used to send a message for help. He answered and said that he would put it on his desk in the oval office for me. I saw it there in one of his television speeches. I don’t know what ever happened to the letter I had, but it would sure be nice to get a copy of it.

8 02 2008
April

That is an amazing story Cozumel.

9 02 2008
Tanisha

That’s awesome Cozumel. I think that is cool that he would do that. Says a lot about a man’s character doesn’t it? That he felt you were important enough to do that.

Gotta love the little people right?

Tanisha

Leave a Reply

